The Hemp industry marked history after the 2018 Farm Bill removed it from the list of Schedule 1 Substances, as long as it carried less than 0.3% THC. CBD is now legal in all states only if it’s hemp derived. Still, some states have restrictions, while some are fully legalized. For example, CBD extract from Marijuana, with higher than 0.3% THC, is only legal in states that passed recreational marijuana.
We recommend checking with the local law and your medical consultant before using CBD products.
CBD can be legally purchased by anyone 18+, as well as cannabis for medical or recreational use in those States:
CBD derived from Hemp can be purchased without a medical prescription, but CBD derived from Marijiuana need a Medical Marijiuana Card under those states:
There are still states where CBD is legal with certain restrictions:
CBD restrictions in Alabama: Only pharmacies allowed to sell CBD products contain less than 0,3% THC on Senate Bill 225 in June,2019.
CBD restrictions in Georgia: CBD products are legally sale after May 2019 The Georgia Hemp Farming Act, HB 213
CBD restrictions in Idaho: CBD products must be THC-FREE and be derived from “five identified parts of the plant”.
CBD restriction in Indiana: Must be Hemp-derived CBD with less than 0.3% THC
CBD restriction in Iowa: user must register and be approved for a medical cannabidiol registration card.
CBD restriction in Kansas: Only allowed THC-FREE CBD products. Users with chronic medical conditions need to be treated under a licensed physician for CBD containing up to 5% THC.
CBD restriction in Kentucky: CBD products are legal if they contain less than 0.3%THC beside Hemp-flower.
CBD restriction in Mississippi: CBD products are allowed up to 15% CBD and less than 0.5% THC under physician’s supervision.
CBD restriction in Nebraska: CBD was decriminalized in May 2019. CBD can be purchased widely now.
CBD restriction in North Carolina: Only CBD derived from Hemp with less than 0.3% THC are allowed; excluding “smokable hemp”.
CBD restriction in Oklahoma: Before 2019 SB 238, CBD was technically only allowed through medical card. As of now, CBD is allowed if it was grown and made from qualified sources.
CBD restriction in South Carolina: CBD can only be purchased with a written prescription that state patients can possibly benefit from the medical use of cannabidiol. Also CBD in the state must contain more than 15% CBD and less than 0.9% THC
CBD restriction in South Dakota: CBD is legal now after House Bill 1008 signed in March 2020.
CBD restriction in Tennessee: CBD with less than 0.9%THC is legal by ‘order’ or ‘recommendation’ by Tennessee physician.
CBD products must be purchased outside of Tennessee. Otherwise it is a misdemeanor charge if having no proof that it was legally purchased outside of Tennessee.
CBD restriction in Texas: CBD with less than 0.3% THC is legal after Texas House Bill 1325 in June 2019
CBD restriction Virginia: legalized all types of CBD products that derived from hemp with No THC.
CBD restriction Wisconsin: Wisconsin is another “confusing CBD laws” state.The state still currently trying to match the Farm Bill 2018. For now, you still need a doctor’s recommendation to purchase CBD.
CBD restriction Wyoming: After Wyoming House Bill 171 in March 2019, CBD is legal for purchasing.
Conclusion on CBD law in 2020
CBD is legal at Federal level; however, individual states have the final say on whether or not they want to legally allow it. Up to date, CBD is still remaining illegal in Idaho and Nebraska. Otherwise, you can see CBD is widely sold from Gas stations to High end retailers.
Also it’s important to note that the FDA haven’t made CBD or CBD oil legal to add to food or dietary supplements.
The only form of CBD has been approved by the FDA is Epidiolex, a seizure medication.